31 Years of  Grom Games!

The Sea Harvest Grom Games Presented by The Department of Sports, Art and Culture

Cape Town Surf Riders win the Sea Harvest Team Trophy at the 2023 Sea Harvest Western Cape Grom Games presented by the Department of Sport, Arts and Culture and Reef Wetsuits, Cape Town Surf Riders won with 16305 points ahead of 2022 Sea Harvest Grom Game winners Eden Surf Riders who accumulated 15131 points, The Cape Winelands Surf Riders finished 3rd place with 10843 points.

The Sea Harvest Western Cape Grom Games presented by the Department of Sport, Arts and Culture and Reef Wetsuits was held at the famous Surfers Corner, Muizenberg with Day 1 run in perfect 2 foot offshore waves and some rain for good measure to remind us that we well on our way into winter. On The Final day with the rain quickly subsiding in the morning and opening to clear blue skies, we were greeted by a growing south swell in False Bay and light onshore south wind although very lined up and contestable!

The U12 Boys final saw a Perfect 10 awarded to the winner Ethan Schermbrucker.

SSA is thankful to Reef Wetsuits, Surfing South Africa’s oldest sponsor for coming onboard as a Presenting Sponsor for the Western Cape Sea Harvest Grom Games.

SSA would also like to thank Vitafit for their Support Sponsorship.

The 2023 The Sea Harvest Western Cape Grom Games presented by the Department of Sport, Arts and Culture is run concurrently at 3 venues around South Africa, Western Cape, Eastern all the way up to the sub tropical climate of KZN!

About 750 KM up the coast, the Eastern Cape Sea Harvest Grom Games presented by the Department of Sport, Arts and Culture kicked off on Pollok Beach in the city we now call Gqeberha formerly known as Port Elizabeth.

The day started with solid 3 foot waves in offshore conditions at PE Pipe, we are not sure if the locals are calling it Gqeberha Pipe yet?. It Was a bit challenging for the younger groms but they did themselves proud. The Waves dropped a little with low tide but were consistent throughout the day.

Buffalo City Surf Riders emerge victorious with 16151 pints ahead of Nelson Mandela Bay Surfriders with 14643 points.

910 KM further North East from Gqeberha in the subtropical waters of South Beach, KZN, the beach where the likes of Jordy Smith, WOK, Travis Logie and the like cut their surfing teeth in their early surfing days, The KZN Grom Games presented by the Department of Sport, Arts and Culture took place in howling onshore and very difficult conditions for Day 1! Day 2 produced perfect 2 – 3 foot offshore surf for the groms!

Ilembe Board Riders made history, winning the Sea Harvest Team Trophy for their first with just a 21 point lead and 17424 point total over 2nd place eThewkwini Surf Riders with 17403 points and UGU Surf Riders placing 3rd with 12630 points.

From all accounts Surfing in South Africa has a great future with talent emerging from all the coastal pockets along our beautiful coastline!


The Championships are Surfing South Africa’s most important transformation and development project and celebrate the diversity that has been achieved in the sport since unification in 1992.

Each of the three separate contests involve girls and boys in the U8 to U16 divisions and each district runs selection trials in order to come up with a representative team that will participate in the tournaments.


Grom Games Image Gallery Bottom of page.

Buffalo City emerge victorious Pic // William Rall

“Just 2 waves is all you need”  Pic // William Rall

Pic// Wall Rall

Sea Harvest Western Cape Grommet Games presented by Department of Sport, Arts and Culture and Reef Wetsuits Individual Results.
Cape Town Surfriders (CTS) – Eden Surfriders (Eden) – Cape Winelands Surfriders (CW)

U8 Boys and Girls Final

  1. Cody Painter – CTS
  2. Nikita Ras – Eden
  3. Mackenzi Loubster – CW
  4. Georgia Pratt – CW
  5. Phoebe Alexander – CTS

U10 Girls Final

  1. Charlotte Alexander – CTS
  2. Leah Stemmet – CW
  3. Kayla Bone – CW

U10 Boys Final

  1. Ethan Schermbrucker – CTS
  2. Lezaro De Bruyn – Eden
  3. Jamie Sampson – CTS
  4. Jesse Nambuya – Eden
  5. Milen Naude – CW

U12 Girls Final

  1. Zahra Ndlovu – CTS
  2. Charlotte Copson – CTS
  3. Sophia De Rosner – Eden
  4. Kiyara Farao – Eden

U12 Boys Final

  1. Luke Lindenberg – CTS
  2. Hugo Berning – Eden
  3. Jayden Botha – Eden
  4. Joshua Joubert – CTS

U14 Girls Final

  1. Coco Patterson – CTS
  2. Tallulah Golding – CTS
  3. Ocean Holmes – Eden
  4. Alana Stemmet – CW

 U14 Boys Final

  1. Joshua Painter – CTS
  2. Malan Louw – CW
  3. Caspian Nicolson – CTS
  4. Zanda Palmer – Eden

U16 Girls Final

  1. Jua Swanepoel – Eden
  2. Larho Theodorou – CW
  3. Danique Ferreira – Eden
  4. Sasha Macleod – CTS

U16 Boys Final

  1. Troy Praetorious – CW
  2. Andrew Abrahams – CTS
  3. Zainndeen Cozyn – CTS
  4. Christo Hendricks – CTS


Sea Harvest Eastern Cape Grommet Games Individual Results
Buffalo City Surfriders – (BCS), Nelson Mandela Bay Surfriders (NMBS)

U8 Girls

  1. Emma Goldswain -BCS
  2. Nicole Eleftherious -BCS
  3. Zaliha Bhyat -BCS

 U 8 Boys

  1. Jacob Malherbe -BCS
  2. Jordy Seymour -BCS
  3. Lincoln Gravett -BCS

U10 Girls

  1. Holly Mattheys -BCS
  2. Lexie Ogilvie -BCS

U10 Boys

  1. Leo McLeod -NMBS
  2. Samuel Steyn -BCS
  3. Leighton Van Kempen -NMBS
  4. Ziraar Bhyat BCS

U12 Girls

  1. Chelsea Fowles -BCS
  2. Brin Jarvis -NMBS
  3. Mahle Ntsebeza -BCS
  4. Jemma Smith -BCS

U12 Boys

  1. Murray-John Boonzaaier -NMBS
  2. Caleb Judd -NMBS
  3. Ashleigh Sergel -BCS
  4. Abuti Masui -NMBS

U14 Girls

  1. Rubinay Booysen -NMBS

U14 Boys

  1. Sinoyolo Tshongolo -NMBS
  2. Cameron Campbell -NMBS
  3. Ayabulela Tokwe -NMBS
  4. Soma Welanie -BCS

16 Girls

  1. Monifah Booysen -NMBS

 U16 Boys

  1. Ayavuma Charlie -NMBS
  2. Haydn Thomas -NMBS
  3. Siyabonga Heugh -NMBS
  4. Khanya Kralo -NMBS

Sea Harvest KZN Grommet Games Individual Results
Ethekweni Surfriders (ESA), Ilembe Surfriders (ILM), Ugu Surfriders (UGU)

U8 Girls and Boys Final

  1. Seth Seppings – ILM
  2. Amy Dirkze Van Schalkwyk – UGU
  3. Michael Wegener – ESA
  4. Simlindilwe Nyembezi – UGU
  5. Nathi Xulu – ESA

U10 Girls Final

  1. Ella Van Der Made – ILM
  2. Lila Prinsloo – ILM
  3. Skyla Nadauld – UGU
  4. Carla Pires – ESA
  5. Holly Jones – ESA

 U10 Boys Final

  1. Benji Pelliandini – ESA
  2. Jackson Myers – ILM
  3. Johnjon Clark – ILM
  4. Jordan Edwards – ESA

 U12 Girls Final

  1. Coco Clark – ILM
  2. Adriana Canning – ESA
  3. Asine Ntuli – ESA
  4. Tori Jones – ESA

 U12 Boys Final

  1. Sean Tayler – ILM
  2. Levi Vosloo – ILM
  3. Callum Pearson – UGU
  4. Snakho Memela – ESA

 U14 Girls Final

  1. Ziphozonke Mseleku – ESA
  2. Zoey Seppings – ILM
  3. Frances Wang – ILM
  4. Alexis Hewitt -ESA

U14 Boys Final

  1. Junior Ngcobo – ESA
  2. Callan Oldreive – ILM
  3. Tre O Sullivan – ESA
  4. Amkela Mgcina – UGU

 U16 Girls Final

  1. Lola Wang – ILM
  2. Cyan Chalupsky – ILM
  3. Emily Herselmann – ESA
  4. Kitari Van Straaten – ESA

 U16 Boys Final

  1. Evan Walker – ESA
  2. Zach Van Der Linder – UGU
  3. Caiden Coelho – ESA
  4. Sbonginkosi Mthembu – ILM


Photos by William Rall/ Rezar De Nicker & Tristan Frew – SSA Media