About Surfing South Africa

Surfing South Africa (SSA) is the recognized National governing body for the sport of surfing in South Africa and is a member of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC).

Surfing South Africa and is a founding member the World’s governing body for the sport, the International Surfing Association (ISA).

SSA is responsible and accountable for all aspects of surfing in South Africa, from entry-level participation as well as transformation and development to the management of the junior SA Surf Tour (SAST) and the selection of all National Teams.

SSA works in partnership with the World Surf League (WSL) and sanctions all WSL events held in South Africa.

Provincial bodies, Western Cape Surfing Association, Eastern Cape Surfing Association and KwaZulu-Natal Surfing Association are made up of eight Districts. These districts are Cape Town Surfriders, Cape Winelands Surfriders, Eden Surfriders (all in the Western Cape), Nelson Mandela Bay Surfriders and Buffalo City Surfriders (both in the Eastern Cape) and Ugu, eThekweni and Ilembe Surfriders (all based in KZN).

SSA is also responsible for the development of Club and School surfing throughout South Africa as well as the accreditation of Coaches, Technical officials and Surf Schools.

SSA caters for boys and girls at all levels and every ability within every community. SSA attracts membership from as young as under eight years of age to over 65 years of age.

Surfing South Africa is also responsible for the presenting of National tournaments as well as the arranging and holding of administrative, coaching and adjudication courses.

In addition, Surfing South Africa is responsible and accountable for the transformation and development of the sport of surfing.

Surfing South Africa is an autonomous, democratically run sports organization, which is governed by its Constitution. It is bound by the policies and criteria laid down by the National Department of Sport, Arts and Culture and the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC).

Policies such as those on transformation and development, national team selection process, approval of national team colours, international acceptance, constitutionality and good governance are among the criteria expected to be adhered to by Surfing South Africa.

Surfing South Africa is governed by a democratically elected Board of Directors, all of whom are volunteers. It consists of a president, First Vice President,  Second Vice President and five Board members. Each Board member is entrusted with a specific portfolio.

The day to day administration of the organisation is conducted by a General Manager and an Operations Manager.