Buffalo City Wins the Freedom Cup, eThekweni wins the Sea Harvest Loud and Proud Trophy. 


Lower Point in Jeffreys Bay produced perfect waves for the competitors in the 25th edition of the Sea Harvest SA Junior Championships presented by SMTH Shapes and supported by the Department of Sport, Arts & Culture which ran from October 5th to 9th.

Buffalo City Surfriders reclaimed the Freedom Cup after relinquishing it to Cape Town Surfriders in 2021. The Team from Cape Town came second this year with Ethekweni Surfriders taking third spot ahead of Cape Winelands. Ilembe Surfriders were fifth, Nelson Mandela Bay was sixth, Eden Surfriders came seventh and Ugu Surfriders took eighth place.

The Sea Harvest Loud and Proud Trophy that is awarded to the team that shows the most spirit over the three days of competition went to eThekweni Surfriders.

In the U12 Girls Final Leah Lepront of Ugu, who has been dominant in this division in the SA Junior Surf Tour events this year, finished her season in style by taking the U12 Girls Title for 2022. Camilla Heuer of Buffalo City finished second, with Jasmine Venter of Cape Winelands taking third place. Mikayla Jefferis of eThekweni was fourth.



Leah Lepront © Mike Ruthnum 


 Ben Esterhyse of Cape Town Surfriders won the U12 Boys Final with Carl Wiersma of Nelson Mandela Bay Surfriders taking the runner up spot. Fellow NMBS surfer Callum Loftus was third, and Damien Roeloffze of Cape Winelands came fourth.


Ben Esterhuyse © Mike Ruthnum 


In the U14 Girls final, the talented Louise Lepront,of Ugu Surfriders, who was the only surfer in the contest to post a 10 point ride and deservedly won the Female Surfer of the Contest Award, maintained her 2022 form to win gold in this division. Remi Fourie of Cape Winelands, another standout in this division throughout the event, took the runner up spot with Emily Jenkinson of Cape Town Surfriders securing third. Sophia Jackson of Eden Surfriders was fourth.



Louise Lepront © Mike Ruthnum


Rory Dace of NMBS won the U14 Boys title, Loghann Tilsley of Cape Winelands came second with Josh Malherbe of Buffalo City Surfriders and Asbjorn Gwenin of CTS third and fourth respectively.



Rory Dace © Mike Ruthnum


Mayah Potgieter of Ilembe Surfriders won her second SA Junior title when she beat Anastasia Venter of Cape Winelands into second place in the U16 Girls final. Gemma Hanafey of Buffalo City came third and Gia Gillmer of eThekweni Surfriders was fourth.



Mayah Potgieter © Mike Ruthnum



Joel Fowles of Buffalo City cemented a good contest year with victory in the U16 Boys final over Surprise Maphumulo of eThekweni. Fellow ESA surfer, Nate Colby, who was named Male Surfer of the Contest, came third and David Emslie of Buffalo City was fourth.



Joel Fowles © Mike Ruthnum 



2021 SA Open Women’s Champion, Adriel Wolmarans of Buffalo City added the U18 Girls title to her list of achievements when she beat teammate and rival Aimee du Preez into second place in this division. Demi Rowe of eThekweni came third and Maya Figl of CTS was fourth.



Adriel Wolmarans © Mike Ruthnum


Dan Emslie of Buffalo City claimed the 2022 SA U18 Boys championship crown in style. Emslie beat dark horse, Joshua Myburgh of CTS, into the runner up spot in a power packed final heat of the 2022 SA Junior Championships. James Ribbink of eThekweni was third and Connor Slijpen of CTS took fourth spot.



Dan Emslie © Mike Ruthnum


The entire event was streamed live via the Supersports School app. Find the app on your app store and register.

A summary of the daily coverage can also be viewed at:  click here

All the event results of each division from the early rounds up to and including the finals can viewed on Liveheats by clicking here.

Complimentary high-resolution images are available for media outlets on request.

SA Junior Championships Individual Results 


U12 Girls

1. Leah Lepront (UGU)

2. Camilla Heuer (BC)

3. Jasmine Venter (CW)

4. Mikayla Jefferis (ESA)


U12 Boys

1. Ben Esterhyse (CTS)

2. Carl Wiersma (NMB)

3. Callum Loftus (NMB)

4. Damien Roeloffze (CW)

U14 Girls

1. Louise Lepront (UGU)

2. Remi Fourie (CW)

3. Emily Jenkinson (CTS)

4. Sophia Jackson (Eden)


U14 Boys 

1. Rory Dace (NMB)

2. Loghann Tilsley (CW)

3. Josh Malherbe (BC)

4. Asbjorn Gwenin (CTS)


U16 Girls 

1. Mayah Potgieter (ILM)

2. Anastasia Venter (CW)

3. Gemma Hanafey (BC)

4. Gia Gilmer (ESA)


U16 Boys 

1. Joel Fowles (BC)

2. Surprise Maphumulo (ESA)

3. Nate Colby (CTS)

4. David Emslie (BC)


U18 Girls

1. Adriel Wolmarans (BC)

2. Aimee Du Preez (BC)

3. Demi Rowe (ESA)

4. Maya Figl (CTS)


U18 Boys

1. Daniel Emslie (BC)

2. Joshua Myburgh (CTS)

3. James Ribbink (ESA)

4. Connor Slijpen (CTS)

Freedom Cup: (Team Title) 

1. Buffalo City Surfriders – 44068 points.

2. Cape Town Surfriders – 40890

3. Ethekweni Surfriders – 38976

4. Cape Winelands Surfriders- 37888

5. iLembe Surfriders – 34570

6. Nelson Mandela Bay Surfriders – 34349

7. Eden Surfriders – 27455

8. Ugu Surfriders – 24277


After ten events held throughout the year on the SA Junior Surf Tour, the top seven scores were counted and the top four surfers in each Division were announced at the Prizegiving of the 2022 Sea Harvest SA Junior Championships presented by SMTH Shapes and supported by the Department of Sport, Arts & Culture.

2022 SA Junior Surf Tour Results 

U12 Girls 

1. Leah Lepront

2. Jasmine Venter

3. Maya Malherbe

4. Camilla Heuer


U12 Boys 

1. Ben Esterhuyse

2. Marcello Zedde

3. Carl Wiesma

4. Callum Loftus


U14 Girls 

1. Louis Lepront

2. Emily Jenkinson

3. Taylor Emslie

4. Sophia Jackson


U14 Boys 

1. Cooper Smith

2. Rory Dace

3. Josh Malherbe

4. Matt Canning


 U16 Girls 

1. Anastasia Venter

2. Sarah Scott

3. Zia Hendricks

4. Gemma Hanafey


U16 Boys 

1. Luc Lepront

2. Nate Colby

3. Joel Fowles

4. Levi Epenetos


U18 Girls 

1. Louise Lepront

2. Anastasia Venter

3. Adriel Wolmarans

4. Sara Scott


U18 Boys 

1. Connor Slijpen

2. Christian Venter

3. Joel Fowles

4. Luke Thompson








Photos by Mike Ruthmun Images Jbay