Sea Harvest Grommet Games history for Eden Surfriders and Buffalo City Surfriders and Jordy Smith joins the Groms at Dairy Beach

Eden Surfriders made history at Surfers Corner in Muizenberg at the weekend when they won the Sea Harvest Team Trophy for the first time at the Sea Harvest Western Cape Grommet Games supported by the Department of Sport, Arts and Culture.

Competing in perfect offshore 3 foot waves, the team from the Garden Route beat a strong Cape Town Surfriders team, posting 15719 points to the 15195 scored by the hosts. Cape Winelands, the 2021 Champions, came third this year scoring 9993 points.

Buffalo City Surfriders also made history. Not only did they successfully host the Sea Harvest Eastern Cape Grommet Games at Nahoon Beach in East London for the first time but they also took team honours ahead of neighbours and defending champions, Nelson Mandela Bay for the first time.
Buffalo City scored 15535 points to the 15140 posted by Nelson Mandela Bay Surfriders.

At Dairy Beach in Durban, competitors and officials had to deal with torrential rain throughout the Sea Harvest KZN Grommet Games but despite having to end early on Saturday due to lightning the contest was completed with time to spare.

A visit to the event by World ranked professional surfer Jordy Smith was one of the highlights of the event. Smith was back in his home town after competing at a World Tour event in Portugal. Having surfed in the Grommet Games some 25 years ago, Smith is now one of the World’s most well-known surfers and the time he spent chatting to the young competitors at the KZN event was an indication of his commitment to the youth and underlines why he is so popular.

Team honours at the KZN Sea Harvest Grommet Games went the way of the powerful eThekweni Surfriders Team who beat Ilembe Surfriders into second place with a total of 19800 points to 15710.
Ugu Surfriders, under the watchful eye of eight time SA Champion Heather Clark, showed plenty of spirit throughout the event but with 12625 points had to settle for third place.

The 29th edition of the Sea Harvest Grommet Games attracted over 140 surfers to three different venues across the country. The Championships are Surfing South Africa’s most important transformation and development project and celebrate the diversity that has been achieved in the sport since unification in 1992.

Each of the three separate contests involve girls and boys in the U8 to U16 divisions and each district runs selection trials in order to come up with a representative team that will participate in the tournaments.

Full results of the Sea Harvest Western Cape Grommet games can be seen by going to and clicking on LIVEHEATS and the full results of the Sea Harvest KZN Grommet Games can be viewed by going to

Sea Harvest KZN Grom in action. Photo Dawn Rouse

Sibling success – Bella and Adam Johnson of Buffalo City

Coach and student – Sea Harvest Western Cape Grommet Games. Photo Rezeen Daniels

Sea Harvest Western Cape Grommet Games Individual Results
Eden Surfriders (Eden)– Cape Town Surfriders (CTS) – Cape Winelands Surfriders (CW)

U8 Boys Final
1. Boyd Skordis – CTS
2. Jesse Nambuya – EDEN

U10 Girls Final
1. Sophia de Rosner – EDEN
2. Emma Loggenberg – CW
3. Kayla Bone – CW

U10 Boys
1. Jonathan McLagan – CTS
2. Liam Bonkolo – CTS
3. Luc Jackson – EDEN
4. Lezard de Bruyn – EDEN
5. Liam Marais – CW

U12 Girls
1. Emma Schermbrucker – CTS
2. Mia Gibson – EDEN
3. Avery Le Fleur – EDEN
4. Zahra Ndlovu – CTS

U12 Boys
1. Sylvan Brown – CTS
2. Tom Wolf – CTS
3. Mayah Douglas – EDEN
4. Sibulle Ntosho – EDEN

U14 Girls
1. Holly Cudmore – CTS
2. Zahra Ronnie – CTS
3. Verushka Frans – EDEN
4. Angeline Nyumba – EDEN

U14 Boys
1. Matt Le Roux – CTS
2. Wreford Pollock – EDEN
3. Indie Rossouw – EDEN
4. Jean – Luc du Plessis – CW

U16 Girls
1. Leah Jenkinson – CTS
2. Emily van Galen – CW
3. Phoebe Wiese – EDEN
4. Largo Theodorou – CW

U16 Boys
1. Destin de Necker – EDEN
2. Josh Middleton – CTS
3. Breyton Kitenge – CTS
4. Luca Ossthuizen – EDEN

Surfer of the Contest
Mia Gibson – EDEN

Sea Harvest Eastern Cape Grommet Games Individual Results
Buffalo City Surfriders – (BCS), Nelson Mandela Bay Surfriders (NMB)

U8 Boys
1. Samuel Steyn – BCS
2. Ziraar Bhyat – BCS
3. Judha Levendahl – NMB
4. Leighton Van Kempen – NMB

U8 Girls
1. Holly Mattheys – BCS

U10 Girls
1. Gemma Smith – BCS
2. Lexi Ogilvie – BSC
3. Bella Johnson – BCS

U10 Boys
1. Slayde Shooter – NMB
2. Piper Gernetsky – BCS
3. Kholo Langa – BCS
4. Noah Judd – NMB

U12 Girls
1. Dominique van den Bergh – BCS
2. Mahle Nstebeza – BCS
3. Rubinay Booysen – NMB
4. Angelique Stephens – NMB

U12 Boys
1. Adam Johnson – BCS
2. 2. Jed Ogilvie – BCS
3. Miso Mela – BCS
4. Jadren Snyders – NMB

U14 Girls
1. Jami Lee Van den Bergh – BCS
2. Neve Bowen – BCS
3. Lara Melin – BCS

U14 Boys
1. Reynard van Vuuren – BCS
2. Siya Mtshini – BCS
3. JJ Soli – NMB
4. Soma Welane – BCS

U16 Boys
1. Matthew Froneman – NMB
2. Alexi Beau – BCS
3. Tristan Rodriques – NMB
4. Bradley Windvogel – NMB

Surfers of the Contest
Holly Mattheys – BCS
Slayde Shooter – NMB

Sea Harvest KZN Grommet Games Individual Results
Ethekweni Surfriders (ESA), Ilembe Surfriders (ILM), Ugu Surfriders (UGU)

U8 Boys
1. Seth Seppings – ESA
2. Jordan Grubbe – ESA

U8 Girls
1. Tori Jones – ESA
2. Bhule Ntuli – ILM

U10 Girls
1. Holly Jones – ESA
2. Ella van der Mader – ILM
3. Skye Zulu – ESA
4. Maya du Plessis – ILM

U10 Boys
1. Mason Beach – ESA
2. 2. Marcello Zedde – ILM
3. Tyler Balfour – ILM
4. Jordan Edwards – ESA

U12 Girls
1. Haylie Le Roux – UGU
2. Mikayla Jefferis – ESA
3. Georgia Hewitt – ESA
4. Zoe Seppings – ILM

U12 Boys
1. Melokuhle Zotshana – ESA
2. Qikela Memela – ESA
3. Travis Turrell – UGU
4. Manqoba Ndwandwe – ESA

U14 Girls
1. Nokwande Mamela – ESA
2. Cassandra Shoba – ILM
3. Phumelela Mdalala – UGU
4. Sibonga Ntuli – ESA

U14 Boys
1. Damien Frew – ESA
2. Callan Oldrieve – ILM
3. Ben Schneemann – ESA
4. Jade Pistorius – UGU

U16 Girls
1. Shannon Buck – ESA
2. Jessica Louw – ILM
3. Emily Herselman – ESA
4. Amahle Mamela – ESA

U16 Boys
1. Nicholas Naude – ESA
2. Aaron Jordan – ESA
3. Valentino dos Santos – ESA
4. David Kirton – UGU