The North Swell Surf Club made history in the Sea Harvest Interclub Surfing Championships, which was completed at Muizenberg Pavilion on Saturday (February 23rd), when they became the first surf club from KZN to win the title.

The annual contest got off to a slow start due to thick mist but when the sun came out Muizenberg Pavilion produced fun 2 foot waves for an event that took eight hours to complete.

The presence of a shark in the contest area at around midday forced organisers to put the heats on hold for half an hour until they got the all clear to carry on from the Shark Spotters on duty.

The Durban based surf club, which counts WSL World Tour surfer Jordy Smith as one of their members, has now earned the right to host the annual event at their home break next year.

The team was made up of Chad du Toit, the runner up in the Open Men’s Division at the 2018 SA Surfing Championships, 2018 National Junior Team members Luke Thompson and Kayla Nogueira and talented Durban surfers James Ribbink and Karl Steen. Chad du Toit, the High Performance Coach for the SA Surfing Legends, guided the team to victory.

Jeffreys Bay Surf Club were second, a mere  1.25 points behind North Swell, Muizenberg based Surf Brothers Movement Surf Club B were third and Sisonke Surf Club B, another Durban based club, took fourth place for the second year in a row.

Nineteen teams representing fifteen surf clubs from the western and Eastern Cape and KZN participated in this annual club get together which has grown in numbers over the last seven years.

Full results are available on

Photos are posted on the Surfing SA Facebook page

The annual South African Interclub Championships is a Surfing South Africa event made possible support from Sea Harvest and Sport and Recreation South Africa.



  1. North Swell Surf Club – 39.62 points
  2. Jeffreys Bay Surf Club – 38.37points        
  3. Surf Brothers Movement Surf Club (B) – 35 points
  4. Sisonke Surf Club (B) – 32.61

= 5. Kommetjie Surf Club

= 5. Gromblitz Surf Club ((B)

= 7. South Side Surf Club

= 7. Surf Brothers Movement Surf Clunb (A)

= 9. UCT Surf Club

= 9. Strand Surf Club

= 9. Muizenberg Revival Surf Club

= 9. Sisonke Surf Club (A)

= 13. Rebel Surf Club

= 13. Sunset Surf Club

= 13. 9 Miles Surf Club (B)

= 13. Share the Stoke Surf Club

=17. Maties Surf Club

= 17. 9 Miles Surf Club (A)

= 17. Gromblitz Surf Club (A)

Surfing South Africa (SSA) is a member of the SA Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC), the African Surfing Confederation (ASC) and the International Surfing Association (ISA). SSA is the governing body for all surf riding in South Africa and is recognized as such by Sport and Recreation South Africa.

North Swell Surf Club- left to right – Chad du Toit, James Ribbink, Luke Thompson, Karl Steen & Kayla Nogueira